top of page
  • Writer's pictureShi Jie

[ FAST PEOPLE, SLOW WATER ] - Final Project - Designing with Architectural Principles + Materiality


The final project is an individual project, in which this time we have been given a specific site to suit our design, and the task will be designing an experiential pavilion.

1(a) Introduction to Site Analysis (Group Task):


The site given is in Perdana Botanical Garden, Kuala Lumpur.

All of us have conducted site analysis of the physical context both at a macro & micro level of the overall site and collected sufficient data and record based on:

- Site plan (Site section, Site Boundaries, North Point, Contours)

- Existing Structure (Significant Architectural Language/Feature, Adjacent building/structure building to remain/demolish)

- Landscape (Natural features, Soil Condition, Surface Drainage, Existing vegetation)

- Climatic Studies (Sun path, wind direction, rain)

- Circulation pattern (pedestrian, vehicular)

- Views and Vistas (Panoramic /spot in, out, approaching)

- Activities (category -dry/wet, zoning, noise)

- Case studies of the following: The Bamboo Playhouse by Eleena Jamil Architect, Perdana Canopy, GDP Architect, Serpentine Pavilion

1(b) Five (5) A5 postcards (Individual Task)

I have to produce a set of 5, A5 postcards, use only 3 colours to create the whole set. These are about what I see & feel and how to record these perceptions and thoughts as an entire set.

2. Designing with Architectural Principles + Context (Individual Work):

Once site analysis is done, I have to design an Experiential Pavilion with a maximum area of 150sqm that includes the activities of relaxing, meditating etc. in which furniture and equipment must fit and be incorporated with spatial planning. It must correspond to the site that I have chosen.

Objectives:

- To introduce the notions of concepts, program and process in architectural design

- To introduce students to the understanding of user specific design requirements

- To introduce the notions of space, form and function in architectural design

- To introduce awareness of site specific design and the process of site analysis

Outcomes:

Pavilion Concept:

" Fast People, Slow Water " - A radial triangular form denotes strutural unity, implementing the idea of togetherness to users. A space where users can connect, express themselves and grow together.- A River Promenade.

Narrative:

During the site visit, I have observed that people in Perdana Botanical Garden are just doing their own activities and spend their own time, they isn't really connected to each other. Therefore, I have an idea of designing a pavilion that allows different users to interact and communicate freely, share their ideas, inspiring others at the same time be inspired. The idea of connectivity has developed.

My site chosen is on the middle of the Y-Shape river. With my pavilion situated there, it aims to connect the 3 divided lands: Sunken Garden, Bamboo Playhouse and High Hill together as a whole, at the same time connect people together and gather them in my pavilion.

My pavilion functions as a river promenade, to provide users with different journey instead of walking pass a river as what people usually do. It is also to engage activities along the journey of the pavilion. My pavilion implements meaningful journey, sensorial experiences by applying different rhythm features to prompt users to experience them.

My proposed site:

The middle of the river, as a center to connect 3 divided lands.

Sketches:

My sketches has an overall idea of rhythm, and slowly come out with rhythm in a circulation, and further translating them into my pavilion as a whole journey.

Boards Presentations:

Final Model Presentations:

Overall Presentations:

Reflection:

This project allows me to understand how to design a good architecture by responding my design to a specific site. I also learnt to apply different design elements, materials and principles not only to suit my design, but also suit well with the specific site in order to have an amazing build environment.

Taylor's Graduate Capabilities (TGCs):






This project helps me to explore my discipline specific knowledge as I am able to put the theories learnt in this module in my practice and design. It also helps to develop my problem solving skills as I have to think creatively in designing my space according to the site. Also, it helps with my intrapersonal skills as I have managed myself and this individual project allows me to be self-reliant.

217 views0 comments
bottom of page