top of page
  • Writer's pictureShi Jie

Project 2: Exterior & Interior Renderings


Hi, I am Yeo Shi Jie (0330176).

The project involves the production of photorealistic still renderings using 3DS Max of the selected architecture design with materials, appropriate camera views and post-production enhancement on the visual outcome. The visualisation work would be assessed on the types and ways materials are used, types of lights and effects used to set up the scene, setup of appropriate camera views for rendering and skills of using post production tools to enhance the visual outcome.

Objectives:


- To create materials for 3D objects.

- To use lights in 3DS Max for exterior and interior rendering.

- To set up good photographic compositions using cameras in 3DS Max for final rendering.

- To understand and execute the appropriate rendering settings.

- To enhance the visual outcome of the renderings using post-production tools.

Final Outcomes:

Interior Rendering: ( Day time setting )

Narration- Enjoy the spacious welcoming living spaces with warm sunlight penetrating through the curtain wall and breath-taking environment.

Exterior Rendering: ( Night time setting )

Narration- The silence of the night, but not the resplendent bungalow, because the lights never let the night dull.

My quote:

" Whether it is day or night, the light always shines for you - bungalow RICO,by Eco World."

note:

**(clearer full big image of final renderings can be found inside my google drive link attached below thanks)

Link: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1p6AVB8leRAocTl6e4IaBQkmQZQ0INbKs

Work in Progress ( WIP ) - Screenshots of my progress:

How do I render the drawings?

1. 3Ds Max

- import FBX file from Revit to 3Ds Max , and put the furnitures that I want for my interior space

- set up day light system, camera view that I propose

- make suface-mounted lighting using Arch& Design materials and set self illumination using a sphere. Then group them together and duplicate and paste to place on the other areas using instance duplication

- apply materials using bitmap to customise my own materials such as grass, timber, exterior terrace and so on

- test render preview and make minor changes until I satisfy with the result

- render setup: apply Final Gather and set the output to 1980x 1080 (1.83 ratio) and adjust the render frame windows to medium quality

- render

2. Photoshop - post production

Things I have edited:

- exposure, lighting, level, curves, hue, saturation, vibrance, brightness, contrast

- human figure, shadows

- interior details, spot fix, sunlight flare

- exterior night time colour lookup, night light enhancement, background as site context

before Photoshop:

after Photoshop:


Taylor's Graduate Capabilities (TGCs):



Through this project, I have acquired communication skills as I am able to communicate with my tutor to discuss with my progress and also my classmates to facilitate my progress as well and get suggestion. Secondly, I have acquired intrapersonal skill as I am able to manage myself and time management to complete the individual task. Thirdly, I have acquired digital literacy as I am able to learn 3Ds Max and Photoshop softwares this sem and apply the knowledge in the architecture field.

129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page