top of page
  • Writer's pictureShi Jie

Project 2: Construction Detailing of Building Elements


This is a 2 person pairing project. I am Yeo Shi Jie (0330176) and my teammate is Tan Jes Lyn (0330099).

This assignment is designed to allow us to demonstrate our knowledge and understanding on building construction through drawings. It will emphasis more on detailing on building elements. One of the aims of this assignment is to develop an awareness and understanding of the strong inter-relationship between design and technical knowledge.

- To develop an understanding of the structural elements in construction and its application in the construction industry

- To demonstrate awareness of how buildings are developed in response to practical considerations

- To demonstrate construction manual drawing

- To allow students to demonstrate their understanding and knowledge of construction, material and technology

Task:

We have to produce detailing of building elements on superstructure which include floor, wall, door, window, staircase, and roof. We then have to find a floor plan and a section drawing of a frame structured building that is not exceeding two storey in height. It could be made of concrete, masonry, steel or timber.

Our drawings must include the appropriate specifications, symbols, dimensions and the proposed materials clearly. All drawings are to be presented in 2 A2 tracing papers.

Outcomes:

Our chosen building is SS3 House, Petaling Jaya, by Seshan Design, 2016. Throughout the findings of the house, we have identified some of the interesting elements such as the stairscase, roof, attachment from roof to wall and to floor.


Research Findings:

Drawings:


Reflections:

I appreciate this project as it really allows me to understand how the structure of a building works, and the most important is how to produce a technical drawings of construction detailings and elements.

It also helps me to understand more on standard specifications, conventions, materials renderings and so on that accomplish a detailed set of architectural drawings.

Taylor's Graduate Capabilities (TGCs):







This project helps me to realise discipline specific knowledge as I am able to put all the knowledge learnt and professional practice of architecture drawings within the field of my study. It also helps me to understand the importance of lifelong learning as I am able to locate, extract and utilise the knowledge learnt efficiently in my daily life. Furthermore, it also helps me to develop my communication skill as I have communicated appropriately with my workmate and understand each other's abilities throughout the project.

264 views0 comments
bottom of page