top of page
  • Writer's pictureShi Jie

Task 4: Case Study: Ventilation, Shading, Lighting, and Acoustics

Hi, I am Yeo Shi Jie, 0330176.

The final project requires us to conduct a case study on passive design strategies within a building. By incorporating the principles of passive design in building, it can significantly improves comfort, energy efficiency and reduces greenhouse gas emissions from heating, cooling, mechanical ventilation and lighting.


Objectives:


- To identify passive design strategies for Ventilation, Shading, Lighting, and Acoustics and active.

- To analyze the effect of thermal comfort/ comfort factors in a person and in a space relating to Ventilation, Shading, Lighting, and Acoustics .

- To be able to criticize design of the space in terms of thermal comfort by referring to MS1525 , UBBL and GBI.

- To be able to suggest passive solutions for Ventilation, Shading, Lighting, and Acoustics.


Task:

We have to conduct a building analysis within a group of 9 members, and each of few members do their own parts of passive design strategies. We need to have a thorough research on the passive design strategies, the principles and details needed for these passive design strategies to perform best in tropical climate and to achieve thermal comfort in this building/space. Each member has to choose a space each in the chosen building to analyse on Ventilation, Shading, Lighting, and Acoustics. Then, record and reference data in tables highlighting importance to our study. Lastly, we have to analyze the monitored measurement, environmental factor, people and space in diagrams, sections and plans. The most important is to able to explain how the environment of our case study is affected from natural and man-made factors, and identify issues if there is and propose a passive solution.



Outcomes:


As a group, we have chosen Shalini Ganendra Art Gallery Residence, Petaling Jaya, Selangor as our building to analyse.

As individual, I have chosen to carry out in-depth studies on LIGHTING analysis. And I have chosen to do the lighting analysis on Ground Floor.



My Final Presentation Board:


Attachments:


Morning 8am-11am Noon 12pm - 2pm Afternoon 3pm - 6pm
Daylighting Conditions - Morning - Noon - Afternoon
Natural Daylighting Contour Artificial Lighting Contour
Exploded Axonometric showing human activities under lighting conditions
Section A-A
Section B-B
PSALI Solution - Maximising Daylighting
Original Layout Plan of Lighting Fixtures vs Proposed Layout Plan of Lighting Fixtures ( PSALI Solution )

Site Visit Photos:


My teammates and I have taken many pictures of our building on different times of the day. We have observed our surrounding site for exterior and every corners and spaces for interior. At the same time, we carried out building and space analysis by taking the measurement individually.


For my lighting analysis, I have taken the daylighting factor of my chosen ground floor gallery space using lux meter, according to the grid zones that I have divided. I then observed and recorded down the position and placements of the existing lighting fixtures to understand the artificial lighting condition of my space.



Reflections:


Throughout this task 4, I feel very satisfied with my outcome as I have truly gain a lot of new knowledge regarding passive design strategies in order to achieve thermal comfort within building spaces. I learnt that each environmental elements like sun-shading, ventilation, is to work with architectural elements such as lighting and acoustics to give the best living environment to the users.


For my lighting analysis, I have learnt how to use the lux meter and take the daylighting reading for each grided zones properly and in a suitable height. I also understand how the existing lighting fixtures are able to affect the space and users in a particular way. For example, I observed that my studied space is lack of sufficient lighting during night time and from this I have learnt to discover the lighting issue in my space and able to critisize my space professionally using MS 1525, UBBL and GBI standard qualifications for references. I also able to provide sustainable solution for my lighting condition such as PSALI. For PSALI, I truly understand that for interior lighting, it is not necessarily to always depends on the artificial lighting fixtures, but to maximise the use of daylighting as some of the spaces are benefitted from daylighting at different time of the day, so it is able to help for energy efficiency. I also learnt that for PSALI, how to propose a suitable ceiling layout to place the lighting at suitable zones, and the number of lights required for standard room


Besides, I also learnt that how building design can have effect on interior spaces. For example, the sun-shading devices on the exterior part of the building have affected how the light illuminate into the space and control the amount of light enters the space. The most important part of lighting is that the materiality of the surfaces. For me, I think materials play an important part influencing the reflectivity of lights onto a space. The colour and texture of the surface also influence the space. Other than that, understanding the sun orientation is also significant to understand how to locate the space in response to the sun orientation.


Finally, I feel grateful to have a in-depth studies in lighting analysis as one of the elements of environment factors affecting the building and users.


Taylor's Graduate Capabilities (TGCs):





This project helps me to acquire TGC of discipline specific knowledge as I am able to understand professional pratice in this module and apply and put the theories learnt into my pratice. Also, it helps to discover my thinking and problem solving skill. I am able to think critically and provide creative solution to enhance the knowledge learnt. Thirdly, I also able to gain intrapersonal skill as I learn to manage the task independently and be self-reliant to analyse the problem.



459 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page