top of page
  • Writer's pictureShi Jie

[ SKY CITIES ] - Project 2 - Sustainable Living: Future Sustainable City Ideas

Hi, I am Yeo Shi Jie, 0330176.


Introduction:


The future of our cities will ultimately depend on the way we choose to shape our cities today. Their fate will be about how we as citizens live our lives, show respect towards all life on Earth and contribute to solutions that create a better world. They include a host of solutions from engaging in urban experiments and asking local authorities to enhance sustainability action to urban gardening and switching to bicycles. Each of those choices matters and together they make a large impact if each of us embraces responsibility for the cities we inhabit.


In this assignment, student will be conversant and expected to illustrate and transform concepts and ideas of the future sustainable city.



Tasks:


We can use any framework/concepts to our proposal with any consideration to the followings:

1. Economic Sustainability : Growth Development Productivity

2. Social Sustainability : Equity Empowerment Accessibility Participation Sharing Cultural Identity Institutional Stability

3. Environmental Sustainability : Eco-System Integrity Carrying Capacity Biodiversity



Objectives:


- To Illustrate proposal of concepts, principles and practices of a sustainable city to be applied in the future convivial living environment.

- To reflect the identification of learning experience of the assignments, module and future application to professional practice.


Outcomes:


Interconnecting I Fast & Connected I Densification


Concept:

Floating City Hubs - a future sustainable place to live. The city will be featuring smart mobility ensuring seamless travel among city hubs, with powerful network backbones and intelligent linkings for an active social city hubs to live on. It emphasizes on the densification within a floating city hub, where the city can operate more efficiently using fewer resources to sustain the daily life. Together, all floating city hubs connect and form a vast floating sky cities in the future.


Conceptual Reference Images:


Reflection:


Taylor's Graduate Capabilities (TGCs):



I have acquired discipline specific knowledge skill as I am able to put theories into practice and understand professional practice of this sustainable living module within the architecture field. From here, I understand how having own future thinking and concept generation of future sustainable city helps to build up my perception of future city living and lifestyle to my architecture field. Secondly, lifelong learning can be cultivated as I learn independently by locating and extracting information related to the future city study and sustainable strategies and utilise the information effectively to synthesise my own perception and vision of future city. Thirdly, I have achieved good thinking and problem solving skills as I was able to think critically and creatively to generate my own ideas of future sustainable city and give definition to my own conceptual narrative. By exploring the future city issues, I know how to provide holistic solutions to my sustainable living ideas. Moreover, I have gained citizenship and global perspectives as I have become more aware of and form opinions from diverse perspectives, and understand the value of being an architecture students so that I am able to be more responsible by engaging into community and understanding how future city will mainly become according to different perspectives and cultures from different countries. Lastly, I also boosted my digital literacy as I get to further improve my digital skill while visualising and translating my ideas into statement through the use of different design softwares.



387 views0 comments
bottom of page